Bookmark and Share

March 6, 2012


TICKET SALES:  805/756-2787


SFJAZZ Collective Plays the Music of Stevie Wonder at the Spanos 

SAN LUIS OBISPO, CALIFORNIA –  On Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. in the Alex and Faye Spanos Theatre, Cal Poly Arts proudly presents the SFJAZZ Collective, in a special tour entitled “The Music of Stevie Wonder.”

Each year, the SFJAZZ Collective honors the work of an acknowledged master by revisiting classics from that artist’s repertoire. For 2012, Stevie Wonder is the ensemble’s featured composer – an artist outside of the jazz tradition, but one whose sophisticated songcraft and timeless melodies are more than worthy of exploration.

“It takes a brave soul to tackle the music of Stevie Wonder. The latest incarnation of the SFJAZZ Collective happens to contain eight of them." — San Francisco Chronicle

The Collective includes:

Antonio Hart – Alto Saxophone

Mark Turner – Tenor Saxophone

Avishai Cohen – Trumpet

Robin Eubanks – Trombone

Stefon Harris – Vibraphone, Marimba

Edward Simon – Piano

Matt Penman – Bass

Eric Harland – Drums

The evening includes re-arrangements of work from modern music master Wonder, plus all-new original compositions, commissioned exclusively for this ensemble by SFJAZZ.  Stevie Wonder material featured: “Superstition” – arranged by Miguel Zenon; “Sir Duke” – arranged by Avishai Cohen; “Blame it on the Sun” – arranged by Mark Turner; “Look Around” – arranged by Stefon Harris; “My Cherie Amour” arranged by Edward Simon; “Race Babbling” – arranged by Robin Eubanks; “Creepin’” – arranged by Matt Penman; and “Do I Do” – arranged by Eric Harland.

As soloists, composers, and bandleaders, the eight members of SFJAZZ Collective represent what’s happening now in jazz. They also demonstrate that jazz has truly become an international language. Hailing from New York, Venezuela, Israel, Houston, Berkeley, and New Zealand, the Collective’s multi-cultural lineup mirrors the explosion of jazz talent around the globe.

However, the jazz community only reached its current state by maintaining its traditions while simultaneously embracing innovation. This, too, is the essence of the SFJAZZ Collective. These exceptional artists come together in the name of jazz as a constantly evolving, quintessentially modern art form. Prior to going on tour, the band engages in a multi-week residency in San Francisco where they rehearse the year’s repertoire.

In addition to touring, the Collective mentors promising young musicians, including the acclaimed SFJAZZ High School All- Stars, through workshops and other outreach. The residency is a rare opportunity in the jazz world for such focused creativity, collaboration and preparation, and would not be possible without SFJAZZ institutional backing.

Student and adult tickets for the performance are $30 and $38 and may be purchased at the Performing Arts Center Ticket Office, 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays and 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturdays.

To order by phone, call 805/756-2787; to order by fax: 805/756-6088.

24-hour on-line ordering is available at

10% discount offered to groups of 10 or more. (Not applicable to student rates)

Sponsored by Dr. Elaine Yin, KCBX 90.1 FM, and the Santa Maria Sun.

For more information on all Cal Poly Arts events, including audio and video samples, please visit

#   #   #